google logoWay of a DogWay of a Dog
5 stars - 38 Google Reviews
yelp logoWay of a DogWay of a Dog
5 yelp stars
5 Stars - 6 Yelp Reviews
facebook logoWay of a DogWay of a Dog
4.9 Stars - 19 Facebook Reviews
Ashley Champlin Avatar
Ashley Champlin

My husband and I had just added a 12 week old Rhodesian Ridgeback to our family. I googled dog trainers and Joe had the best reviews. I didn’t hesitate to contact him. From our first conversation I knew he cared about dogs and that with the experience he has that he’d be perfect for our new addition. He was everything we expected and more! We did the initial training and with just that 3 hours, Nebi has learned so much, as well as my husband and I. We continue to use the tips and information provided by Joe. We will most definitely use him again as our baby continues to grow. I highly recommend Joe, and his prices are affordable!! Thanks Joe. Drew and I appreciate your help with our new pup. 😊

6/24/2019
Martin Othart Avatar
Martin Othart

Joe was wonderful and very helpful in teaching us how to get through to our dog. His method was awesome and set a great foundation for us to build upon.

5/07/2019
Christine Levin Avatar
Christine Levin

I had serious doubts as to whether anyone would be able to help my son's totally jacked-up Jack Russell Terrier puppy Jeffrey. Jeffrey would bite you for petting him. He barked and growled like he was homicidal. I thought my son might have no choice but to surrender him to the pound. I called Joe who came out to my son's apartment for a three hour doggy boot camp. At the end of three hours, Jeffrey was more puppy than monster. Just as valuable, my son is now equipped to handle this puppy. The three hours provided him a master class in compassionate puppy training. I recommend Way of a Dog without reservation.

5/07/2019
Mercy Gerbrandt Avatar
Mercy Gerbrandt

I found myself way in over my head after I adopted my 85 pound Pitbull/Doberman. This laid-back, quirky dude showed up for this three hour appointment I booked and helped guide me in the right direction. Seeing how confident Joe was while working with my somewhat aggressive dog and watching how well my dog responded when it was my turn to use what Joe had taught me really made me hopeful about regaining control over my uncontrollable dog. My confidence is growing as I continue to use all of the tools I learned during my time with Joe. Porter is a much happier dog and I am much happier not feeling completely overwhelmed. Love Joe! Would recommend him to anyone that wants to learn how to be a better leader to their furry one!

3/31/2019
Lisa Freeburg Avatar
Lisa Freeburg

Joe was absolutely amazing! We have an older "guest aggressive" Pug who we thought was beyond the point of learning new behavior. Joe showed us some great techniques that are working beautifully. He also helped with tips on training our new puppies :)

3/28/2019
Jacquelyn Riley Avatar
Jacquelyn Riley

Way of the Dog Trainer, Joe Ozier, possesses a connection with dogs, in which they positively respond to immediately.

He believes in each dog he works with.

Through his kind and loving training, the dogs reciprocate by wanting to please him, as they obey his direction and await his next command.

He instills confidence in their ability to learn and obey, and in return they willingly obey.

I witnessed this myself.

I was in need of a home for a handsome, untrained, abandoned, Queensland Heeler.

After Joe's initial first hour with Rusty, Rusty walked with more confidence, looked to me for basic commands, and looked for Joe to return for more training.

It was amazing.

Joe returned and Rusty became the dog every dog owner would be proud of.

Rusty now resides in a beautiful mountain home, with a very pleased and loving family.

I thank Joe, (and his rescued Pup Partner, Jimmy), for genuine caring and sharing of his gift and expertise.

3/25/2019
Vincent Gentile Avatar
Vincent Gentile

Joe is a great guy and has done an amazing job with my new pup. I couldn’t get him to walk on a leash and Joe had him walking around the Nieghborhood with his leash on the first day! He gives you the tools and techniques to keep your dog more socially appropriate and calm bursts of energy. Highly recommend Joe at Way of the Dog to all.

3/11/2019
Rick Murphy Avatar
Rick Murphy

Joe did a great job in teaching us how to work with our dogs!

1/11/2019
Vanessa Withee Avatar
Vanessa Withee

It was such a pleasure having Joe work with my 10 week old English Golden, and my 7 year old Golden. His teaching and training has changed my relationship with both my dogs. I wasnt expecting such an impact in 3 hours.

His method is so simple, Sit, Stop, Wait..... and the dogs really respond. He is clear, firm, but gentle and loving. I cant thank him enough. I have told my family and friends about 3 hours that changed my life and my relationship with my furry friends. He is the real deal and I plan on having many more sessions. God bless you Joe..

1/06/2019
Jacquelyn Riley Avatar
Jacquelyn Riley

Everything. Joe is the most amazing, kind, gentle and loving dog person I've ever met. He has a special gift of love, kindness and discipline, to which the dogs sense and respond to with love and respect for him.

12/09/2018
Kathleen Hendron Avatar
Kathleen Hendron

Did a fantastic job on training foster dogs but personal dogs, as well. High recommend!

12/09/2018
Heather Rutherford Avatar
Heather Rutherford

Joe is amazing! I am not..... I am having a hard time being dedicated to my dog mastering tasks. One thing for sure, I know when I don't get it right. 😔 🐕 stop sit ❤

11/11/2018
Richard B. Avatar
Richard B.
5 star rating

We were in desperate need for help in training our German Shepherd.  He is a very smart dog, opens door etc, and definitely strong willed.  Thankfully Joe was available to help us out.  His method and direct feedback on our actions has helped us lead our shepherd to being a member of our more disciplined and harmonious pack.  Training is not a short term commitment, but a continuous long term journey. Joe gave us the tool box and knowledge on how to use those tools to continue training our big fur ball.  We are grateful. Thank you Joe!

10/19/2018
Katherine Faragia Avatar
Katherine Faragia

JOE is absolutely the BEST! He is able to help identify what our dogs need and what WE can do to help teach them (and undo some things we did incorrectly). I would recommend him to anyone needing dog training (well, human training too). THANKS JOE!!!

10/11/2018
James Martinez Avatar
James Martinez

The best part is Joe comes to your house. I have two large undisciplined dogs that I do not like to transport. Joe really had to earn his pay with them but Joe did so with out any complaints. I would recommend him to anyone especially with unruly dogs. My dogs and I are on the road to recovery.

10/11/2018
Sri Rao Avatar
Sri Rao

Joe is an excellent teacher. We saw a profound change in the behavior of our puppy after just one session. Joe is fun to work with and would recommend him any time.

9/11/2018
James Cummings Avatar
James Cummings

Had Joe come over for a few sessions and I can already see the difference in my puppy's behavior. Not only does he work with the dog, but he gives you the tools to continue to the work after he is gone. With some work and consistency, if you use the tools and tips he gives you for your dog, your dog will be exactly how you want them to be. I highly recommend his services.

9/11/2018
Paw Squad 559 Avatar
Paw Squad 559

We had the pleasure of having a training workshop from the convenience of our foster's home with Joe Ozier who runs Way of a Dog. He helped us with the training techniques to help Smokey, (along with our other Paw Squad dogs). Smokey is shy and stand-offish with people. Joe showed us how to build his confidence and trust. We learned how to desensitize him from the things that scare him the most. The session was extremely educational and helpful. Joe is knowledgeable and very hands-on. He will answer all your questions (and we had a ton! ;)), his passion for helping animals shines through in his workshops. He wants us to have all the knowledge to help our animals be the best they can be. If anyone is in need of a trainer, we highly recommend Joe Ozier!

8/11/2018
Mayra Sanchez Avatar
Mayra Sanchez

Great trainer!! Helped us get to know our puppy better. We would recommend him in a heart beat.

8/11/2018
Elia Rodriguez Avatar
Elia Rodriguez

Joe was amazing with both our dogs. We had not had a puppy in over 10 years and Joe was amazing in getting us started. The greatest was with our biting Queensland, Bentley. We always put Bentley away because of his tendency to bite when we have guests. Joe gave us some great training tips and Bentley warmed up to him We can’t wait to have Bentley finally socializing

7/11/2018
Elia Rodriguez Huffman Avatar
Elia Rodriguez Huffman

Joe was amazing with both our dogs. We had not had a puppy in over 10 years and Joe was amazing in getting us started. The greatest was with our biting Queensland, Bentley. We always put Bentley away because of his tendency to bite when we have guests. Joe gave us some great training tips and Bentley warmed up to him � We can’t wait to have Bentley finally socializing

6/20/2018
Cory Peterson Avatar
Cory Peterson

Joe was amazing with my 3 dogs! He was able to completely reshape the personality of my very timid and painfully shy dog. She is now more playful, comfortable and active. Joe has helped our family so much! He is the best!!

6/11/2018
David Aguilar Avatar
David Aguilar

Joe did a great job training my 1 year old Shepard mix. She was really out of control; jumping up on people and terrorizing our kids. She listens so much better and does not jump up anymore. She also does a lot better on a leash. Great trainer and very reasonably priced.

6/11/2018
Kelly DiCicco Avatar
Kelly DiCicco

Had a great experience with Joe. He is very insightful, truly knows 'the way of the dog'!! Was so pleasant to have in our home and we sure learned a lot. He's your guy for ALL things DOG!!!!

5/11/2018
Sanakee Xiong Avatar
Sanakee Xiong

Joe did amazing with our German Shepherd, Hero! Hero was definitely showing signs of aggression towards Joe but ten minutes later he couldn't help but want to be next to him! Joe even gave us a partial refund when some things came up. Definitely would recommend him to anyone.

4/11/2018
Sue Coggins Avatar
Sue Coggins

I got a rescue dog and promptly called Joe to come help prevent any predictable problems. He came within a few days. He worked with JoJo and me, providing us information, demonstration, and hands on implementation to maximize our ability to be together. She is a sweet dog and he helped me learn how to use a soft but effective approach with her so that she will do the basics. Thank you Joe. I highly recommend him to all dog owners to establish or improve communications between human and dog.

4/11/2018
Mindi Miller Avatar
Mindi Miller

I have to say-from firsthand experience-that Joe is ABSOLUTELY amazing with dogs-I have never met anyone who is committed to understanding what the dog needs. He communicates with them and understands them. He has made a huge difference for the dogs at our rescue. HIRE HIM-YOU WON’T BE DISAPPOINTED!

4/11/2018
Ashley A. Avatar
Ashley A.
5 star rating

Joe is fantastic! We have a 7 year old goldendoodle and an 11 year old dachshund and Joe has been able to train both to stop barking at the doorbell, stay out of the kitchen, stop stealing food off the counter, backup, sit, stop/stay, have less anxiety, and have overall better house manners. I had been told by friends/family and other trainers that our 11 year old should be left alone because of his age and breed, Joe was eager and ready to train and he did it! Our 11 year old is actually back under control! Hands down, the best trainer I have ever met!

3/23/2018
Michele Viets Avatar
Michele Viets

Joe provides practical and instantly effective training for the dog and the humans in your home. Having him come to us allowed us work with specific issues in our home such as Kimme chasing our male cat on a daily basis. The "sit, stop, wait" approach used by Joe helped her to stay focused, learn to listen, STOP chasing the cat multiple times a day, and bring an overall calm to our home. The techniques can be practiced on your own and the home visits from Joe are far more effective than any group lessons we've had. Kimme is a Husky mix and Huskies are notoriously head strong meaning Kimme often ignores commands. She is much better after just a few sessions and we intend to use Joe's talent and services when we add to our pack in the future.

3/13/2018
Mindi M. Avatar
Mindi M.
5 star rating

I have to say-from firsthand experience-that Joe is ABSOLUTELY amazing with dogs-I have never met anyone who is committed to understanding what the dog needs.  He communicates with them and understands them.  He has made a huge difference for the dogs at our rescue.  HIRE HIM-YOU WON'T BE DISAPPOINTED!

5/04/2017
Katie Blunt Avatar
Katie Blunt

Joe helped me with a reallllly gnarly dog situation I got myself into and I'll forever be grateful. Long story short (because I love dogs and have an incredibly squishy heart), I ended up with a stray dog named Liza Minelli who had puppies and was living in my bathroom. She had clearly been through a great deal of trauma and was VERY aggressive with everyone but me. She would snarl at and try to bite anyone who came near her or her babies.Joe came to my house a number of times, and through a lot of love and gentle reminders, brought Liza Minelli back to good mental health. She learned to get along with my family, my friends, and my other dogs. Joe really does have a gift in connecting with animals and can bring them around to positive behavior with his 100% kind and humane approach.I recommend him wholeheartedly for any help you may need with your dog.

4/11/2017
laura splotch Avatar
laura splotch

Joe did a great job with my dog, Jagger. He is patient and controlled Jagger in a way that I could not. Jagger and I learned a lot from Joe!!!

4/11/2017
Vince Cosentino Avatar
Vince Cosentino

Joe came to my house and was very punctual. In fact, I was running late so he was able to view firsthand how our dog, Willie, behaved when someone would approach our door. Joe was firm, yet rewarding for good behavior. The training was meant for me, as well as for Willie.I highly recommend Joe's dog training services.

4/11/2017
Brandy Knorr Avatar
Brandy Knorr

Joe is amazing. He calmed me right done. And also helped my unruly barker. JOE has reminded me to stay calm and be the leader. he has given us the tools to help my family and our dogs live a Happy stress free life.

4/11/2017
Runy Runge Avatar
Runy Runge

Joe conucted a very informative workshop and did a lot of hands-on demonstrations with dogs. I feel that I understood the basics of his approach in dog/ people training. The dog on hand at the workshop responded very well to the training and showed visible improvement. some handouts would be nice to go back to when practicing with your dog at home.

4/11/2017
Guadalupe Posada Avatar
Guadalupe Posada

Joe was very helpful and knowledgeable. I was very nervous about him helping me with my dog but he made me feel comfortable and even my dog, who I was worried would not listen, did listen! And he used positive training and did not use treats as others do. I highly recommend him!

4/11/2017
Joanne Wagenman Avatar
Joanne Wagenman

I was very happy with joe and his methods for dog training. He is able to help even stubborn dogs with behavioral issues and turn them into well adjusted more outgoing pets.

4/11/2017
Debra Saylor Avatar
Debra Saylor

Joe did a wonderful job with my Izzy. She is very hyper and through our sessions got her to calm down and be the wonderful and obedient dog she is today. He worked with her and got her to listen to me and also helped train her to walk on a leash. I would completely trust him with my dogs.

4/11/2017
veh707 Avatar
veh707

Joe's great with animals and explaining his techniques so that owners can continue with his training. He helped my dog learn to relax more with strangers, although I need to give him more experiences so he doesn't forget what he was taught. Overall very pleased with Joe and Jimmy (his adorable dog). I've done individual training at my house and a dog day where Joe takes the dog home with him for the day. Reasonably priced as well.

4/11/2017
Reggie Cake Avatar
Reggie Cake

Joe worked with our little spoiled fur child extremely well. We went through the basic personal training and he did an exceptional job training us and our dog. I would highly recommend Joe to work with any pet. He goes above and beyond what we expected and trained with love and compassion!

4/11/2017
Sheila Sanders Avatar
Sheila Sanders

I highly recommend Joe to all who have dogs especially the ones with problem behavior. He will be working with my dog Missy, a Catahoula Aussie mix very soon. She has typical herding traits and loves to herd me. I will update her progress later.

4/11/2017
Melody Avatar
Melody

I have known Joe for about a year and a half. My Labrador was chosen for a movie and Joe was the dog handler. Gunner and I spent time with Joe before filming started. Joe has a calm way and gunner responded positive with him. Filming was about 3 days and I was never worried about him having my baby. If I ever get another new pup I will definitely be calling Way Of A Dog for training

4/11/2017
Sue Janecek Avatar
Sue Janecek

Joe worked with my Dog Sully and my dog Pickles. He taught Sully to listen to me, to always wait for permission from me before he walks out the front door, and how to walk on a lease without pulling me. Very pleased with the results. Also Sully just loved Joe and was always super happy to see him. Pickles used to jump on me and not listen to me at all. Now Pickles minds me consistently, doesn't jump on me, and always listens to me. I can even give her a look and hand signals and she does what I want her to do.

4/11/2017
Tamara Treber Avatar
Tamara Treber

Joe worked with our seven-month old labradoodle Gracie...but really he trains the human to be highly attuned to the dog. We learned appropriate ways to get Gracie's attention, correct unwanted behaviors, and teach her desirable ones. It is not like a Petco class where you are practicing commands, it is an individualized program that fits the dog and his or her person and family.

4/11/2017
Michael Charvet Avatar
Michael Charvet

I've known Joe for years. He's an insightful trainer who really has a connection with dogs. Who would guess we have our own "Dog Whisperer" right in Fresno? Great! I live out of the area now, but I'm looking forward to Joe's new remote video training program for Fuji, our Border Collie mix. Looking for a dog trainer? I recommend Joe. Here's a personable guy who really cares about the relationship between you and your dogs . . . and he comes to your home, on your schedule. Nice.

4/11/2017
DeAnna S. Avatar
DeAnna S.
5 star rating

Very patient and great results. Enjoyed working with Joe a lot and he's always available to help.

3/21/2017
Katie B. Avatar
Katie B.
5 star rating

Joe helped me with a reallllly gnarly dog situation I got myself into and I'll forever be grateful. Long story short (because I love dogs and have an incredibly squishy heart), I ended up with a stray dog named Liza Minelli who had puppies and was living in my bathroom. She had clearly been through a great deal of trauma and was VERY aggressive with everyone but me. She would snarl at and try to bite anyone who came near her or her babies.

Joe came to my house a number of times, and through a lot of love and gentle reminders, brought Liza Minelli back to good mental health. She learned to get along with my family, my friends, and my other dogs. Joe really does have a gift in connecting with animals and can bring them around to positive behavior with his 100% kind and humane approach.

I recommend him wholeheartedly for any help you may need with your dog.

3/21/2017
Tammy Carter Treber Avatar
Tammy Carter Treber

Joe worked with our seven-month old labradoodle Gracie...but really he trains the human to be highly attuned to the dog. We learned appropriate ways to get Gracie's attention t, correct unwanted behaviors, and teach her desirable ones. It is not like a Petco class where you are practicing commands, it is an individualized program that fits the dog and his or her person and family.

2/21/2017
Sheila Sanders Avatar
Sheila Sanders

I highly recommend Joe to all who have dogs especially the ones with problem behavior. He will be working with my dog Missy, a Catahoula Aussie mix very soon.

She has typical herding traits and loves to herd me. I will update her progress later.

2/08/2017
Michael T. Avatar
Michael T.
5 star rating

Joe thanks for everything you did with my rescue dog Kirby. You ability to communicate with me and Kirby has enabled us to develop a partnership that is continuing to grow. We will get together in a few weeks and do a tuneup. I'm sure I'll need more of your professional and focused help.

2/08/2017
Arlene Green Avatar
Arlene Green

Joe has such a special gift for calming my little Gabby down. He has a way of helping her to become so relaxed to the point of her almost falling asleep! You see, Gabby was having issues with attempting to bite me off and on when I would go to pick her up. I believe that this was most likely due to the fact that she was in pain with dental issues recently. Because of this I had become fearful to the point of avoiding picking her up if at all possible. She had changed so much with this issue that I knew I needed to call Joe to save the day, and he did! Now, thanks to Joe's awesome training Gabby and I doing much better.

11/26/2016
Joe Ozier Avatar
Joe Ozier

From Gregory Linkowski : Joe Ozier is an amazing dog trainer, a Renaissance man of sorts. He has helped us with our three dogs over the years with his positive attitude, Reinforcement and assertiveness training, making dog training fun.We have developed more meaningful and deeper relationships with our dogs through communication, respect and trust.We have discovered that all dogs want to please their owners and Joe has provided us with the tools to let our dogs know what we want them to do. We are calm assertive and the dogs are calm submissive. Rewarding them with "way to go"

Of all the dog trainers we have had, Joe stands out as the best!

7/01/2016
Suzan Barkley Blair Avatar
Suzan Barkley Blair

After only two sessions with Joe, Bogey and Driver are so much more attentive to me and no more tugging on the leash!!! I highly recommend a visit with Joe

6/10/2016
Nicole Dibello Avatar
Nicole Dibello

Joe helped us with our very energetic Australian shepherd (jack). He taught us how to properly teach our pup to be calm and listen when we talk/command our dog, and it only took a few lessons. Also Joe helped ME to be patient and confident when teaching jack. Thank you joe, jack appreciates your help. :)

5/30/2016
Jamie Wilson Avatar
Jamie Wilson

Joe is a very patient person and definitely has a way with dogs. He who worked with my daughter and I to be able to get my sons dog to listen to us and be a team player instead of a bully. This Rotweiller pit bull, Jocko, attacked my other dog and it was a very frightening experience for my daughter. I tried finding a home for Jocko but didn't have the heart to do it because we love him so much too and knew there was a better way. So we called Joe again and invested 6 hours and one full day with Joe to get Jocko to listen to commands and behave like a way of a dog. We now have a dog who listens to us and is more of a team player rather than a bully. Thank you Joe for all your advice and time. It's well worth it.

5/25/2016
Virginia Hull Avatar
Virginia Hull

Joe has worked with my dog Charlie alone and as a pair with my new dog Ivy - he gave me the tools necessary to work with both dogs on their confidence, their leash walking abilities, and maintaining a calm demeanor even when the doorbell rings! I'm very happy with everything Joe did to help me be a better dog mom. :)

5/24/2016
Debbie Saylor Avatar
Debbie Saylor

Joe, thanks so much for our lesson the other day. Izzy is doing so much better and actually minding me when I speak. We went for a walk and she did great. When we first started out she was distracted by a couple of men changing a tire but I did the repositioning posture several times and each time she obeyed my command without me having to get frustrated. We walked to the dog park and she walked right beside me. It was such a pleasure for me to experience this new behavior. Also she has been even more loving toward me cause I leave her with wanting more. What a difference your 3 hours made. I can't wait to send her with you for the doggy day. This was totally worth every penny I spent! A big thank you!

8/16/2015
CathyAnn Hudson Avatar
CathyAnn Hudson

I have a Pit/Mix Molly that I rescued from a shelter of which she was used as a breeding dog. After rescuing her she was out of control and I was frustrated. I contacted Way of Dog !!! After 2 sessions with Joe Molly has come such a long way. I am truly impressed by how much knowledge Joe has with dogs . He observes and evaluates your dogs good and bad habits and is very good at working with not only the dog but also teaches the owner how and what to look for to improve with training . Joe also does not use treats nor shock collars or anything aggressive or cruel to train.. Molly is indeed a hand full and I am very positive with continues-es training sessions with Joe Molly will be the perfect pet :-)

I highly recommend Way of Dog for training your pet and Joe has reasonable prices compared to others .

3/14/2015
Hi, I'm Joe

Would you like to have a quick chat to find out if my training program is right for you and your dog?  There’s no obligation, and our initial phone consultation is free. 

5/5

Rated 5-stars on Google, Yelp, and Facebook.